The first structure in what is now the Đà Nẵng Museum of Cham Sculpture was built in 1915.
However, many of the Cham sculptures here were actually collected over the 20 years prior to the construction of this first building. Coming from sites around Đà Nẵng and Quảng Nam Province, they were brought to this site and displayed in what was then known as “The Garden of Tourane”.
The collection of Cham sculpture was begun by French archaeologists and experts from L’École Française d’Extrême-Orient (EFEO). Some artifacts were sent to museums in Paris and others to museums in Hà Nội and Sài Gòn (now Hồ Chí Minh City). However, the most typical and precious objects were left here in what was then known as Tourane (now Đà Nẵng).